David Christophersen*: Piano Recital #1

David Christophersen*: Piano Recital #1

25th September 2011

The Danish pianist David Christophersen presents a unique three recital series of Prokofiev’s visionary and brilliant “War” sonatas contrasting them with Czech, Spanish and British masterpieces. Each recital includes work by Chopin, Rachmaninov, Kabalevsky and Scarletti. These recitals are part of Christophersen’s UK wide tour which will conclude at St John Smith’s Square in 2012.

Born in Oslo, he has performed as a pianist in Scandinavia, Italy, Ireland and the UK. His most recent performances have included cycles of sonatas by Schubert and Chopin, major works from the Latin American, Czech and French repertoire and premieres of a series of new chamber works in collaboration with the composer Jeremy Thurlow. In 2007 together with the pianist Vivian Choi he founded a two piano and percussion ensemble which specialises in 20th century classics, including Bartok’s great sonata for this medium and premieres of new works.

Further details of each programme are available on David's website.

£16 / £9 concs.
SEASON TICKET (Entry to all three recitals in the series) £40 / £27 concs.
Doors open at 7pm, concert starts at 7.30pm.
Share on Facebook